Home / Blog / AI website builders 2026
Research · 17 providers

AI Website Builders 2026: What You Actually Get for Your Money

Short answer: Every AI website builder will build you a site in minutes. The difference only shows up afterwards. We checked 17 providers on what a month of AI actually buys you, whether the AI will work on a site you already have, what keeps running after the build, and whether you can leave again. The headline finding: for most of them nobody can tell you how far your allowance goes, not even the provider. Only five of 17 tell you up front how far your allowance goes. Every figure comes from a public provider source, as of 15 September 2026.

Key takeaways

  • We checked 17 tools that build websites with AI, using public provider sources only, as of 15 September 2026.
  • Five of 17 tell you up front how far your allowance goes: Divi, Elementor and Lovable convert their credits into actions, Durable and Jimdo never count in credits at all. For the rest it stays an open question.
  • Hostinger puts a single request at 0.01 to 2.45 credits itself, depending on effort. The cheapest plan includes 5 credits a month.
  • Framer confirms in its own help centre that there is no fixed number: credits used depend on the complexity of the request.
  • Durable is the only provider that does not count in credits at all, but in things: 10 blog posts, 50 images and 1,000 chat messages a month.
  • Divi is the only one that prices finished results: a whole site costs 25 tokens, a page layout 10, a section 5.
  • Elementor publishes the conversion: 25,000 credits is 25,000 texts or 757 images or 625 layouts.
  • At Wix and Framer, unused credits expire at the end of the billing cycle.
  • Eight of 17 work on an existing site, us included. For six of them that means only inside their own system.
  • Only Hostinger and 10Web can read a foreign URL and build from it. Both rebuild it in their own house.
  • Exactly one provider plans content ahead on its own: Wix. It still never publishes without your approval, which Wix states explicitly.
  • Six of 17 let you leave again: three with real source code (Hostinger, Lovable, ShiftPress), three through the WordPress export (Elementor, Divi, WordPress.com).
  • Not one of the other 16 providers mentions the labelling duty under Article 50 of the EU AI Act, in force since 2 August 2026.
  • Prices range from 0 to 159 euros a month.

The 17 providers at a glance

Prices are regular list prices in euros, no promotional discounts, on annual billing where that is the standard plan. Where a provider bills in US dollars we converted at 1 euro to 1.16 US dollars (September 2026) and give the original amount in the footnote.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Provider Existing site? from €/month What a month buys you Keeps running? Take it with you?
IONOS MyWebsiteno6 1not statedon requestno
STRATOno9not statedon requestno
Jimdono, advises only1225 Companion messages a dayon requestno
Wixyes, only on Wix9120 to 1,000 credits, value variesplans ahead, you approveno
Squarespaceyes, only on Squarespace12not statedon requestno
WordPress.comyes, via your own AI agent7 2not statedon requestyes, WordPress export
Hostingeryes, reads a URL9 25 to 15 credits, 0.01 to 2.45 per requestnot statedyes, source code
Durableno22 210 posts, 50 images, 1,000 chatson requestno
10Webyes, rebuilds a page9 2100 credits, value not publishedon requestno
Framerno9 21,000 credits, value not quantifiablenono
Lovableno22 2100 credits, 0.5 to 1.7 per requestnoyes, you own the code
v0 (Vercel)no26 2€26 of credit, burn rate undisclosednonot stated
Boltnonot publishednot statednonot stated
Replitno17 2€17 of credit, burn rate undisclosednonot stated
Elementor AIyes, inside WordPress16 225,000 texts or 757 images or 625 layoutson requestyes, WordPress export
Divi AIyes, inside WordPresssubscription, unlimited100 free: site 25, layout 10, section 5on requestyes, WordPress export
ShiftPressyes, your site, wherever it came from0, from 8 with AI5 to unlimited AI changesruns on its ownyes, source code

1 The advertised figure is a promotional rate for the first six months. No regular list price is published on the product page. 2 Billed in US dollars, converted at €1 = $1.16 (September 2026). Original prices: WordPress.com $96/year, Hostinger $10.99, Durable $25, 10Web $10, Framer $10, Lovable $25, v0 $30, Replit $20, Elementor $228/year.

What is a credit, actually?

For most providers: nobody knows in advance, including the provider. Nine of the 17 tools bill in a currency of their own, called credits, tokens or simply balance. What a single request takes out of it depends, for nearly all of them, on how much work it was.

Hostinger spells this out most plainly in its own help centre. Usage is calculated to two decimal places, "for example 0.12 or 2.45 credits". Short, simple questions consume significantly fewer; requests that need heavy computation or extensive code generation take a higher share. Even an edit you make by hand in the editor still costs 0.01 to 0.05 credits. The Premium plan gives you 5 credits a month. Whether that is two moves or two hundred is not knowable up front.

Framer says the same thing more briefly: the number of credits a prompt uses depends on the complexity of the request and the work required. The help page gives no figure. At Wix a call costs "approximately 1 AI credit", with the cost depending on length and complexity.

At v0 and Replit there are no credits at all, but a dollar balance spent "towards most powerful models". What a model call costs is not something you get told as a customer.

This is the real finding of the exercise. You can line up these providers' monthly prices, but you cannot say where you get more for your money.

Who tells you up front what you get?

Five providers tell you up front, with varying clarity.

Divi is the clearest. A whole website costs 25 tokens, a page layout 10, a single section 5. As a member you get 100 for free, so four complete sites. That is a sum you can do before you buy.

Elementor publishes the conversion for its 25,000-credit allowance: 25,000 text prompts or 757 images or 625 layouts. That the same number stretches to such different amounts of output depending on the task shows, in passing, how little a bare credit figure tells you.

Lovable prices a request at 0.5 to 1.7 credits in normal mode and exactly one credit in planning mode. That turns the 30 free credits into roughly 18 to 60 requests.

Durable sidesteps the problem entirely and counts not in credits but in outcomes: 10 blog posts, 50 images, 1,000 chat messages and 20 lead replies on the mid plan. That is the most legible billing in the field, quite apart from what you think of the product.

Jimdo publishes a plain ceiling. Its own AI statement says the chat function is limited to 25 messages per 24 hours. That is tight, but you know where you stand before you buy. The same page is unusually candid elsewhere: Jimdo writes that its partners may not use your inputs to train their models, and adds that Jimdo itself does not currently do so but reserves the right to change that. If you object, you email them.

Will the AI help with a site you already have?

Eight of 17 say yes, us included. For most of them the yes carries the same catch: only inside their own system.

Squarespace now has 17 AI tools, 13 of which work on existing pages, from rewriting copy to an SEO scanner. That only helps if your site is already on Squarespace. The same goes for Wix, for Elementor and Divi (it has to be WordPress) and for WordPress.com, which takes a different route and lets outside AI agents like Claude or ChatGPT reach your site through an open protocol.

Only two can read a foreign address. Hostinger advertises that you upload a URL, an image or a PDF and get an editable site out of it, with "no need to start from scratch". 10Web recreates any page from its URL and offers to modernise outdated ones. Both rebuild your site in their own house rather than editing it where it lives.

For everyone else there is only the route through a brand new site. If you have run a site for years, with copy that grew over time and a position in Google, most of this market has nothing for you.

What does the AI do after the site is live?

For most of them: nothing, until you ask. This is the gap comparisons almost always skip, even though it makes the biggest difference day to day. Building a website takes an afternoon. Keeping it current for years is the actual work.

We found four levels.

  1. Nothing. Lovable, v0, Bolt and Replit are build tools. Once the site is built, their job ends.
  2. On request. The large majority. You open the editor, ask for a text, get a text. Nothing happens without you. That is IONOS, STRATO, Jimdo, Squarespace, Durable, 10Web, Elementor and Divi.
  3. Plans ahead, you approve. So far only Wix. The marketing agent builds a monthly content plan for blog, social and email, works through it on a weekly rhythm, measures what lands and steers the next drafts accordingly. Wix states explicitly in its own help centre that the agent will never publish anything on your behalf and will always request your approval.
  4. Runs on its own. In this survey that is only ShiftPress, with Blog Autopilot: topics come from your search terms, the article gets written and goes live without you approving each one. If you would rather approve, you turn it off.

For Hostinger the answer is open. It advertises an agent for "400+ tasks" but says nothing anywhere about whether any of it runs on a recurring schedule.

Can you get out again?

Six of 17 have a way out. Hostinger says you can export the complete source code at any time and take it with you, Lovable says the code is yours, and with ShiftPress the site already sits as code in a repository you own. With Elementor, Divi and WordPress.com you get out through the WordPress export, because the site is technically a WordPress install.

Every other provider says nothing about this on its product pages. That is not an oversight. A builder that is easy to leave is a builder people leave. If you are committing for the long run, ask this before you sign up, not on the day you move.

And the labelling duty?

Not one of the other 16 mentions it. Article 50 of the European Union's AI Act has applied since 2 August 2026. Anyone deploying AI systems professionally to produce content must, under certain conditions, mark that content as AI-generated. It chiefly affects chatbots, AI-generated images and purely machine-written text. The duty applies regardless of company size, so it covers the sole trader with one website too.

For text there is an exemption where a human reviews the content before publication and takes responsibility for it. That is exactly the point where a tool could help, with a marker in the source or a step in the editorial flow. None of the other 16 providers does that, and none so much as flags the obligation. On those platforms, putting AI text or AI images on your site leaves that job entirely with you. For the record, so the number stays honest: ShiftPress adds the notice automatically under articles the autopilot publishes without a human approving them, and leaves it off where a person reads the draft first, because that is when the exemption applies. The text of the law is on EUR-Lex.

How we collected this

We did not test, we documented. That is a difference and it belongs out in the open.

  • What we did: For each of the 17 providers we read the public product page, the pricing page and, where it exists, the help and developer documentation. Every figure in the table comes from a source anyone can check without an account.
  • What we did not do: We did not open 17 accounts or build demo sites. So this survey says nothing about how good the generated copy, images or layouts are. It says what the providers commit to.
  • "Not stated" does not mean "does not exist". It means the provider does not write it in the places a prospective buyer would look.
  • The cut-off date is 15 September 2026. Prices and allowances in this market move fast. We refresh this page annually.
  • Two gaps remain. Jimdo's AI statement and its list of sub-processors block automated access, so some Jimdo fields are empty. We did not guess.
  • Disclosure: ShiftPress is in the table because it belongs in the field. We asked ourselves the same questions as everyone else and did not flatter a single row. There is no ranking here and no winner.

Already have a website?

Then most of this market does little for you, because nearly all of it starts from zero. ShiftPress takes your existing site into clean code, hosted in the EU, with automatic redirects so your position in Google survives the move. After that you change it by chat or by click. Free to try.

Check my website

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI website builder in 2026?
This survey names no winner, because the quality of the output cannot be judged honestly without testing it yourself. What can be documented is who bills transparently: Divi, Elementor, Lovable and Durable tell you before you buy how far your allowance goes. For the rest it stays open.
How much does an AI website builder cost?
Entry plans across the 17 providers range from 0 to 26 euros a month, with the most expensive plan in the field at 159 euros. The monthly price says little, because the included AI allowance is measured differently everywhere and most providers never translate it into units you can reason about.
Can AI rework my existing website?
Usually not. Eight of the 17 tools work on existing sites, but most of them only inside their own system: Squarespace only on Squarespace, Elementor and Divi only in WordPress. Only Hostinger and 10Web can read a foreign address, and both rebuild the site on their own platform in the process.
What does an AI credit mean?
A credit is each provider's internal billing unit and, for almost all of them, not a fixed quantity. Hostinger puts a request at 0.01 to 2.45 credits depending on effort, Lovable at 0.5 to 1.7. Framer confirms there is no fixed number. Divi and Elementor bill in units you can reason about, and Durable and Jimdo skip credits altogether.
Do I have to label AI-generated text on my website?
Article 50 of the EU AI Act has applied since 2 August 2026 and requires AI-generated content to be labelled, regardless of company size. For text an exemption applies where a human reviews it before publication and takes responsibility. None of the other 16 providers flags this duty. ShiftPress adds the notice under articles that go live without a human approving them. This is not legal advice.
Can I get out of an AI website builder?
Six of 17 do: Hostinger promises a full export of the source code, Lovable says the code is yours, and with ShiftPress the site already sits as code in a repository you own. Through Elementor, Divi and WordPress.com you get out via the WordPress export. The remaining eleven make no public statement about it.

Read on: Website builder comparison 2026 · What the AI in IONOS, STRATO and Jimdo can do · No lock-in: own your site · Cancel your website builder and switch